Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Paid episode

The full episode is only available to paid subscribers of How To Be A Whale

POV: you're in someone else's story

empathy amongst narcissism

How To Be A Whale is a free newsletter. If you love it, consider supporting it financially. For $4.44/mo, you’ll gain access to “How To Be A Whale” coaching entries, podcast episodes, poetry and the occasional astrology breakdown. My work here is reader-supported, hence the lack of ads and sponsors. Thank you! I am so happy you are here!


Growing up in my household was similar to growing up in a cult. There was a story of who my parents were that had to be followed. They were who they said they were, I was who they said I was, and to betray, trigger, or demand an alternate reality (your own vs. theirs) was cause for drama and trauma.

I was an empathetic child. I felt my parents storms, their fears, their anxieties, their expectations, their wants and their needs. But most of what they really wanted, needed, or experienced wasn’t something they could allow. Both struggle/d with narcissism which made their realities and sense of selves fragile and incontestable.

Thus it became safe and natural to play a character of myself rather than to explore who I actually was. As an adult, this meant I struggled to be authentic, exist honestly in relationships, show up for myself, and even to write my own story (to live from my own inner compass).

Watch with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to How To Be A Whale to watch this video and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

How To Be A Whale
How To Be A Whale
Authors
Jem P Ember